How to Dress Well Announces New Album "What Is This Heart?", Shares "Repeat Pleasure" video

Neo-R&B crooner Tom Krell (a.k.a. How To Dress Well) will release his third studio album, “What Is This Heart?”, on June 24th via Domino. Spanning 12 tracks, the follow-up to 2012′s excellent Total Loss was produced by Rodaidh McDonald (Vampire Weekend, The xx, Adele) and will be available as a double LP and deluxe double LP. The deluxe version contains a 28-page photo booklet and a bonus 10-inch featuring two non-album tracks, “So Easy for Pleasure” and “Let U Know”.

Already Krell has shared “Words I Don’t Remember”, and to accompany today’s announcement, he’s unveiled “Repeat Pleasure”. Here, Krell takes a distinct turn towards the realm of pop music, stripping away his back catalog’s inherent sensuality for an upbeat ballad of slow-burning electric guitars, hand-clap drums, and some doubly crisp falsetto harmonies. The playful, almost child-like take on a romantic ode works well for Krell, whose sincerity and steadfast commitment, no matter how kitschy things get, makes for pure and earnest pop music.

The song's video, with past How to Dress Well collaborator Luke Gilford as creative director and Johannes Greve Muskat directing, is an elusive and emotionally intense visualization of these themes. Krell makes a brief appearance, as a convenience-store clerk, but the Dazed-premiered video — the first in a trilogy — mostly follows a young couple and a sickly older man. The twists and turns are gut-punching enough, particularly set to How to Dress Well's ephemeral raptures, but there's definitely room for further development in future videos. For instance, pay close attention: What does Krell hand the young man over the check-out counter? And repeat.

“What Is This Heart?” Tracklist:
01. 2 Years On (Shame Dream)
02. What You Wanted
03. Face Again
04. See You Fall
05. Repeat Pleasure
06. Words I Don’t Remember
07. Pour Cyril
08. Precious Love
09. Childhood Faith in Love (Everything Must Change, Everything Must Stay the Same)
10. A Power
11. Very Best Friend
12. House Inside (Future Is Older Than the Past)

Source & 2
  • Current Location: bedroom
  • Current Mood: sick sick
  • Current Music: How To Dress Well - Repeat Pleasure