brandnewinfo (brandnewinfo) wrote in ohnotheydidnt,

Disney to release The Legacy Collection (12 albums!)

For fans looking to expand a Disney music collection: You'll soon have no worries for the rest of your days.

That's because Walt Disney Records announced plans Tuesday to release a dozen albums called "The Legacy Collection." There will be 11 soundtracks for popular films and one album marking the opening of Disneyland in Anaheim, Calif.

The albums will be released through 2015 on noteworthy anniversaries. First up is The Lion King, which turns 20 next month, according to a Walt Disney Records press release.

Each album in the new collection will feature the original soundtrack with additional documentary content, according to the statement, and new art by Disney artist Lorelay Bove will give the albums a cohesive look.

"It's going to be for people who are Disney fans, and music fans and collectors," Rob Souriall, the vice president of global marketing for Walt Disney Records, told USA TODAY Network. He described the albums as having a book-like appearance to display on shelves.

The Lion King album, available starting June 24, will include a half-hour of previously unreleased music and liner notes from the composer and producer.

[Tracklist (click to open)]
Disc One
1. "Circle of Life/ Nants' Ingonyama" Performed by Carmen Twillie, African Vocals Performed by Lebo M
2. "Didn't Your Mother Tell You Not to Play With Your Food" Score
3. "We Are All Connected" Score
4. "Hyenas in the Pride Land" Score
5. "I Just Can't Wait to Be King" Performed by Jason Weaver with Rowan Atkinson and Laura Williams
6. "Elephant Graveyard" Score
7."I Was Just Trying to Be Brave" Score
8. "Be Prepared" Performed by Jeremy Irons with Whoopi Goldberg, Cheech Marin and Jim Cummings
9. "Simba, It's to Die For" Score
10. "Stampede" Score
11. "Mufasa Dies" Score
12. "If You Ever Come Back We'll Kill You" Score
13. "Bowling for Buzzards" Score
14. "Hakuna Matata" Performed by Nathan Lane, Ernie Sabella with Jason Weaver and Joseph Williams
15. "We Gotta Bone to Pick With You" Score
16. " Kings of the Past" Score
17. "Nala, Is It Really You?" Score
18. "Can You Feel the Love Tonight" Performed by Joseph Williams and Sally Dworsky with Nathan Lane, Ernie Sabella and Kristle Edwards
19. " Remember Who You Are" Score
20. " This Is My Home" Score
21. " The Rightful King" Score

Disc Two
1. "The Morning Report" Performed by James Earl Jones, Jeff Bennett and Evan Saucedo
2. "Warthog Rhapsody" Performed by Nathan Lane and Ernie Sabella
3. "We Are All Connected" Score Demo
4. "I Was Just Trying to Be Brave" Score Demo
5. "Stampede" Score Demo
6. "Mufasa Dies" Score Demo
7. "This Is My Home" Score Demo
8. "The Rightful King" Score Demo
9. "Circle of Life" Instrumental Demo
10. "Circle of Life" Performed by Elton John
11. "I Just Can't Wait to Be King" Performed by Elton John
12. "Can You Feel the Love Tonight" (End Title) Performed by Elton John

Walt Disney Records provided the following release schedule.

The Lion King, 20th anniversary, 6/24/14
Mary Poppins, 50th anniversary,8/26/14
Sleeping Beauty, 55th anniversary, 10/7/14
The Little Mermaid, 25th anniversary, 11/17/14

Fantasia, 75th anniversary, 1/3/15
Pinocchio, 75th anniversary, 2/3/15
Toy Story, 20th anniversary, 3/17/15
Disneyland, 60th anniversary, 4/7/15
Lady and the Tramp, 60th anniversary, 5/12/15
Pocahontas, 20th anniversary, 6/23/15
Aristocats, 45th anniversary, 8/14/15
Cinderella, 65th anniversary, 8/14/15

Tags: disney, film, soundtrack
  • Post a new comment


    Comments allowed for members only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

← Ctrl ← Alt
Ctrl → Alt →
← Ctrl ← Alt
Ctrl → Alt →