. (freezerburn) wrote in ohnotheydidnt,

Pixies Plan Live Acoustic DVD

Nearly 40 years after Bob Dylan plugged in the amp heard ‘round the world at the Newport Folk Festival in 1965, the Pixies ventured a step back into the acoustic world at that same festival with a set of stripped-down versions of 22 of their best songs. Now the rest of us finally have something to show for it: the Pixies: Acoustic - Live in Newport DVD.

August 22 will see the release of the DVD on Eagle Rock Entertainment. In addition to the band's entire freshly reunited 2004 festival set, the DVD features a 21-minute behind-the-scenes look at rehearsals for the show (their acoustic debut!), including an attempt at deconstructing "Debaser", which ended up being cut from the final set list.

Wave of interpretation:

01 Bone Machine
02 Cactus
03 Ed Is Dead
04 All Around the World
05 Subbacultcha
06 Monkey Gone to Heaven
07 Is She Weird
08 Here Comes Your Man
09 River Euphrates
10 Velouria
11 Wave of Mutilation
12 I Bleed
13 Crackity Jones
14 Gouge Away
15 Hey
16 The Holiday Song
17 Nimrod's Song
18 Mr. Grieves
19 Caribou
20 Vamos
21 Where Is My Mind?
22 Gigantic

As previously reported, the Pixies are currently on tour in Europe. If you still have yet to see the reunited band live, you can catch them at one of the festival dates below.

All around the world:

07-13 Prague, Czech Republic - Palác Akropolis
07-14 Trencín, Slovakia - Pohoda Festival
07-15 St. Pölten, Austria - Nuke Festival
07-16 Zagreb, Croatia - SRC Salata Festival
07-18 Nyon, Switzerland - Paleo Festival
07-19 Ile de Gaou, France - Voix du Gaou Festival
07-20 Lisbon, Portugal - Pavilhão Atlântico
07-21 Benicassim, Spain - Benicassim Festival
07-23 Carhaix-Plouguer, France - Vieilles Charrues Festival

source: pitchforkmedia

Recent Posts from This Community

  • Post a new comment


    Comments allowed for members only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded