Kris (workbitch) wrote in ohnotheydidnt,

. . . And the honorary Oscars go to James Earl Jones, Oprah Winfrey and Dick Smith

The Academy's Board of Governors has named the first Oscar recipients of 2011 -- and the honorees at the third annual Governors Awards dinner and ceremony on Saturday, November 12 will include an actor, a makeup artist and a one-woman showbiz colossus who will be taking home the first Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award bestowed by the Academy in three years.

Actor Jones and makeup artist Smith, meanwhile, will receive honorary Academy Awards. The Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, which is also one of the Governors Awards, will not be handed out this year.

Smith is the only honoree to have won a competitive Oscar, for "Amadeus" in 1984. He was also nominated for "Dad" in 1989.

Winfrey and Jones were both nominated for acting awards -- Winfrey as Best Supporting Actress for "The Color Purple" in 1985, Jones as Best Actor for "The Great White Hope" in 1970 -- but neither won.

The choices were made at Tuesday night's board meeting, and announced by the Academy after the recipients had been notified.

This is the first year since the Governors Awards were moved to a separate show that the governors have selected three recipients, rather than the maximum of four.

For the full press release go to the source.

Tags: award show - academy awards, oprah

Recent Posts from This Community

  • Post a new comment


    Comments allowed for members only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 


Recent Posts from This Community