Queen Ursula (queenursula) wrote in ohnotheydidnt,
Queen Ursula

Chloé Zhao makes history with major pre-Oscars award for Nomadland

Chloé Zhao became first the woman to receive the Palm Springs International Film Festival's Director of the Year prize for her film Nomadland.

Past recipients of the PSIFF's Director of the Year honor include eventual Oscar-winning or Oscar-nominated filmmakers like Alejandro G. Iñárritu (Babel, Birdman), Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave), David O. Russell (The Fighter), Jason Reitman (Up in the Air), and Quentin Tarantino (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood).

Nomadland previously won major festival honors at the Venice International Film Festival and the Toronto International Film Festival, taking top prizes (the Golden Lion and People's Choice Award, respectively).

Tags: asian celebrities, film, film director

Recent Posts from This Community

  • Post a new comment


    Comments allowed for members only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 


Recent Posts from This Community