scriptedending (scriptedending) wrote in ohnotheydidnt,

Independent Spirit Awards Live Post

Today is the 35th annual Independent Spirit Awards! While the Academy Awards may have omitted your faves like The Farewell, Uncut Gems, Clemency, Booksmart, and Portrait of a Lady on Fire, they're all up for awards at the Independent Spirits.

Here's how it works: a committee chooses nominees from the pool of films whose budgets were below $22.5 million (increased from $20 million in recent years), and then members of Film Independent vote on said nominees.

In addition to the nominated films listed above, the acting nominees include Awkwafina, Alfre Woodard, Elisabeth Moss, Zhao Shuzhen, Kelvin Harrison, Jr., Willem Dafoe, Adam Sandler, Octavia Spencer and Jennifer Lopez - very little overlap with this year's Oscar nominees. Here is a handy list of all of the films, filmmakers, writers and actors nominated for this year's awards.

The awards are held in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica, and the blue carpet, which will stream live on Twitter, begins at 3pm ET/12pm PT. The awards themselves begin at 5pm ET/2pm PT, and will be hosted for the second year in a row by Aubrey Plaza on IFC. Click here to find out how to watch the show.

Kaitlyn Dever
Hunter Schafer
Mindy Kaling
Margaret Qualley
Adam Sandler
Olivia Wilde
Jennifer Lopez
Beanie Feldstein
Joey King
Laura Dern
Scarlett Johansson

Kelvin Harrison, Jr.
Naomi Watts
Aubrey Plaza
Elisabeth Moss
Hunter Schafer and Kelvin Harrison, Jr.
Renée Zellweger
Noah Jupe and Shia LaBeouf
Lulu Wang
Taylor Russell
Zazie Beetz


Best Supporting Male: Willem Dafoe, The Lighthouse
Best Editing: Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie, Uncut Gems
Best Documentary: American Factory
The Bonnie Award: Kelly Reichardt
Best Cinematography: Jarin Blaschke, The Lighthouse
John Cassavetes Award: Give Me Liberty
Best First Screenplay: See You Yesterday
Best First Feature: Booksmart
Best International Film: Parasite
Best Screenplay: Marriage Story
Best Supporting Female: Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell
Robert Altman Award: Marriage Story
Someone to Watch Award: Rashaad Ernesto Green, Premature
Best Director: Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie, Uncut Gems
Best Male Lead: Adam Sandler, Uncut Gems
Best Female Lead: Renée Zellweger, Judy
Best Feature: The Farewell

Source 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23
Tags: actor / actress, adam sandler, asian celebrities, award show - other, black celebrities, celebrity social media, elisabeth moss, film director, jennifer lopez, laura dern, live viewing post, mindy kaling, naomi watts, olivia wilde, red carpet and event, scarlett johansson, shia labeouf
  • Post a new comment


    Comments allowed for members only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

← Ctrl ← Alt
Ctrl → Alt →
← Ctrl ← Alt
Ctrl → Alt →