ms_geekette (ms_geekette) wrote in ohnotheydidnt,

2018 Nebula Award Winners


The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America awarded the peer-voted Nebula awards last week for science fiction and fantasy from 2018.

2018 Nebula Awards

Best Novel
-Winner: The Calculating Stars by Mary Robinette Kowal, published by Tor
The Poppy War by R. F. Kuang, published by Harper Voyager
Blackfish City by Sam J. Miller, published by Ecco
Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik, published by Del Rey
Witchmark by C. L. Polk, published by
Trail of Lightning by Rebecca Roanhorse, published by Saga Press

Best Novella
-Winner: “The Tea Master and the Detective” by Aliette de Bodard, published by Subterranean Press
“Fire Ant” by Jonathan P. Brazee, published by Semper Fi Press
“The Black God’s Drums” by P. Djèlí Clark, published by
“Alice Payne Arrives” by Kate Heartfield, published by
“Gods, Monsters, and the Lucky Peach” by Kelly Robson, published by
“Artificial Condition: The Murderbot Diaries” by Martha Wells, published by

Best Novelette
-Winner: “The Only Harmless Great Thing” by Brooke Bolander, published by
“The Last Banquet of Temporal Confections” by Tina Connolly, published by
“An Agent of Utopia” by Andy Duncan, published by Small Beer Press
“The Substance of My Lives, the Accidents of Our Births” by José Pablo Iriarte, published by Lightspeed Magazine
“The Rule of Three” by Lawrence M. Schoen, published by Future Science Fiction Digest
“Messenger” by Yudhanjaya Wijeratne and R.R. Virdi

Best Short Story
“Interview for the End of the World” by Rhett C. Bruno
-Winner: “The Secret Lives of the Nine Negro Teeth of George Washington” by P. Djèlí Clark, published by Fireside Magazine
“Going Dark” by Richard Fox
“And Yet” by A. T. Greenblatt, published by Uncanny
“A Witch’s Guide to Escape: A Practical Compendium of Portal Fantasies” by Alix E. Harrow, published by Apex Magazine
“The Court Magician” by Sarah Pinsker, published by Lightspeed Magazine

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation
The Good Place: “Jeremy Bearimy” written by Megan Amram
Black Panther written by Ryan Coogler and Joe Robert Cole
A Quiet Place written by John Krasinski and Bryan Woods & Scott Beck
-Winner: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse written by Phil Lord and Rodney Rothman
Dirty Computer written by Janelle Monáe and Chuck Lightning
Sorry to Bother You written by Boots Riley

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy
-Winner: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi, published by Henry Holt and Macmillan UK
Aru Shah and the End of Time by Roshani Chokshi, published by Rick Riordan Presents
A Light in the Dark by A. K. DuBoff, published by BDL
Dread Nation by Justina Ireland, published by Balzer + Bray
Peasprout Chen: Future Legend of Skate and Sword by Henry Lien
Tess of the Road by Rachel Hartman, published by Random House

Best Game Writing
-Winner: Black Mirror: Bandersnatch by Charlie Brooker, published by House of Tomorrow and Netflix
The Road to Canterbury by Kate Heartfield, published by Choice of Games
God of War by Matt Sophos, Richard Zangrande Gaubert, Cory Barlog, Orion Walker, and Adam Dolin, published by Santa Monica Studio/Sony/Interactive Entertainment
Rent-A-Vice by Natalia Theodoridou, published by Choice of Games
The Martian Job by M. Darusha Wehm, published by Choice of Games

Other Awards

Damon Knight Grand Master Award
William Gibson

Bobak Ferdowsi

Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award
Nisi Shawl
Neil Clarke

Kevin O’Donnell Jr. Service to SFWA Award
Lee Martindale

SOURCES: Award Results, Graphic

Looks like they just picked the first name in most of the categories, smh.  And BOO @ the SFWA for not shortlisting the *superior* Good Place episode this past season.  Do you consider Bandersnatch a game, ONTD?  Also, do you think Nora Roberts is looking down upon the SFWA for their taste in YA fiction, if she even cares?  Discuss.  Feel free to make this a book post, if you want.  Last sci-fi and/or fantasy you've read - GO!
Tags: award show - nominees / winners, award show - other, black mirror (netflix), books / authors, spider-man

  • Post a new comment


    Comments allowed for members only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded