Beyoncé and JAY-Z to be Honored with The GLAAD Vanguard Award for Accelerating LGBTQ Acceptance

Beyoncé and JAY-Z to be honored at the 30th Annual GLAAD Media Awards for accelerating LGBTQ acceptance

Beyoncé and JAY-Z will be honored with the Vanguard Award for their LGBTQ allyship at the 30th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles on Thursday, March 28. The Vanguard Award honors those allies who have made a significant difference in promoting acceptance of LGBTQ people.

Beyoncé receives the award for speaking out against laws that would discriminate against LGBTQ people in states including North Carolina, celebrating the passage of marriage equality nationwide, speaking out loudly for LGBTQ youth and telling the Beyhive hat “LGBTQ students need to know we support them". She has also included LGBTQ people and couples in videos for ‘Formation’ and ‘All Night’,  dedicated one performance of ‘Halo’ to the victims and survivors of the Orlando Pulse nightclub shooting and Ivy Park, her athleisure clothing line, featured transgender actress Laverne Cox as one of the brand's endorsers.

Jay Z already received the GLAAD Special Recognition Award last year for his song and music video, “Smile,” which featured his mother Gloria Carter, who used the song to come out as a lesbian. He also recently featured LGBTQ people in his art, including an appearance by Janet Mock in the video for ‘Family Feud,’ which opens with a quote from iconic gay writer James Baldwin. Jay Z also supported the passage of marriage equality, noting it was “the right thing to do as a human being.”

GLAAD President and CEO Sarah Kate Ellis credits Mr. & Mrs. Carter with being global icons and "passionate defenders of human rights and acceptance for all people" and states that when they speak, the world becomes inspired and that their voices are heard loud and clear when it comes to the LGBTQ community.

Previous Vanguard Award honorees include J.Lo, Kerry Washington, Cher, Janet Jackson, Elizabeth Taylor, Antonio Banderas, Demi Lovato, Whoopi Goldberg, Eric McCormack, and Britney Spears.