Broadchurch & My Mad Fat Diary lead RTS Programme Awards nominations

ITV's murder mystery drama Broadchurch is leading the field in the Royal Television Society Programme Awards nominations with a quartet of nods.

Broadchurch star Olivia Colman was nominated for best actress, alongside her fellow Broadchurch star Jodie Whittaker, and Sharon Rooney, for E4's My Mad Fat Teenage Diary in her first major TV role.

My Mad Fat Teenage Diary is also up for the best drama series prize, against Channel 4's Utopia and BBC2's Peaky Blinders, but there is nothing in either category for BBC2's Gillian Anderson thriller, The Fall.

The best male actor award sees Idris Elba nominated for BBC1's Luther, alongside Stephen Dillane for Sky Atlantic's The Tunnel and Run star Lennie James.

Broadchurch creator Chris Chibnall is nominated for best drama writer (along with Dennis Kelly for Utopia and Marlon Smith and Daniel Fajemisin-Duncan for Run, both on Channel 4) with the ITV show also in the running for best drama serial, against BBC2's Top of the Lake and BBC3's In The Flesh.

With 19 nominations, Channel 4 had more than any other broadcaster in the shortlists published on Tuesday. BBC1 had 12 nominations with seven for BBC2, eclipsed by 10 (across all its channels) for BSkyB. ITV bagged 15 nominations, with four for ITV2.

Actor - Female
Olivia Colman - Broadchurch / Run
Sharon Rooney - My Mad Fat Diary
Jodie Whittaker - Broadchurch

Actor - Male
Stephen Dillane - The Tunnel
Idris Elba - Luther
Lennie James - Run

Drama Serial
In The Flesh
Top Of The Lake

Drama Series
My Mad Fat Diary
Peaky Blinders

Entertainment Performance
Alan Carr - Alan Carr: Chatty Man
Ant & Dec - Britain's Got Talent/Ant & Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway
Leigh Francis - Celebrity Juice/Through The Keyhole

Game Of Thrones
Storyville - Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer
The Returned

Live Event
Bollywood Carmen Live
The Ashes - 2013
Wimbledon Men's Final

David Attenborough - Galapagos 3D with David Attenborough
Stephen Fry - Stephen Fry - Out There
Davina McCall - Long Lost Family

Writer - Drama
Chris Chibnall - Broadchurch
Dennis Kelly - Utopia
Marlon Smith and Daniel Fajemisin-Duncan - Run

Full list of nominations at the source