Alfonso Cuaron slays at Director's Guild Awards

Alfonso Cuaron has won the Directors Guild of America award for feature film for his space thriller “Gravity.”

Cuaron won over Paul Greengrass (“Captain Phillips”), Steve McQueen (“12 Years a Slave”), David O. Russell (“American Hustle”) and Martin Scorsese (“The Wolf of Wall Street”).

The winner was announced by last year’s winner Ben Affleck at the conclusion of the 66th DGA Awards ceremonies at the Century Plaza Hotel, based on voting by the 15,000 DGA members.

The DGA win comes a week after “Gravity” and “12 Years a Slave” tied for the top award by the Producers Guild of America.

“Breaking Bad,” “30 Rock” and “Behind the Candelabra” won the major TV awards. Series creator Vince Gilligan won the Directors Guild of America award for TV series for the final “Breaking Bad” episode.

The “Felina” episode won over Bryan Cranston for the “Blood Money” segment of “Breaking Bad” segment, David Fincher, receiving his sixth DGA nomination for directing “Chapter 1″ of “House of Cards,” Lesli Linka Glatter for “Homeland” and David Nutter for “Game of Thrones.”

“I am blown away,” Gilligan said. “I am in the company of betters.”

Steven Soderbergh won the award for TV miniseries for HBO’s “Behind the Candelabra.” He won over “The Sound of Music Live!,” “Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight,” “Phil Spector,” and “Killing Kennedy.” It was the first DGA win for Soderbergh, who was nommed twice in 2000 for “Erin Brockovich” and “Traffic.”

Jehane Noujaim won the documentary award for “The Square,” the Oscar-nominated story of the Egyptian revolution of 2011 from its roots in Tahrir Square. “The Square topped “Cutie and the Boxer,” “The Act of Killing,” “Stories We Tell” and “The Crash Reel.” It’s the second DGA win for Noujaim, who won in 2001 with Chris Hegedus for “”

”This film is the most deeply personal film I ever made, watching my country change, she said in her acceptance. “It redefined my understanding of what was possible.”

Beth McCarthy-Miller won the award for TV comedy series for the “Hogcock/Last Lunch” episode of “30 Rock.” The episode topped two segments of “Modern Family” — one directed by Bryan Cranston — and two of “The Big Bang Theory.”

It was the third DGA award for McCarthy-Miller, who won twice previously for musical variety shows.

Don Roy King won the regularly scheduled variety award for “Saturday Night Live with host Justin Timberlake.” It was first win after being nominated seven times for “SNL.”

Glen Weis won his fifth DGA award for the 67th Tony Awards in the specials – variety/talk/news/sports category.

"Scandal" series creator Shonda Rhimes and executive producer Betsy Beers share this year's DGA Diversity Award, the first time that prize has gone to a woman (or two, for that matter).

Soooooo happy for him omg!!!