Royal Mail to release Doctor Who 50th anniversary stamps

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

In celebration of Doctor Who‘s 50th anniversary next year, the Royal Mail will release a special set of stamps.

Each of the eleven stamps will feature one of the eleven actors that have played the role of the Doctor since the show’s first began in 1963 – Matt Smith, David Tennant, Christopher Eccleston, Paul McGann, Sylvester McCoy, Colin Baker, Peter Davison, Tom Baker, Jon Pertwee, Patrick Troughton and William Hartnell.

In addition to the stamps featuring the Doctors, a five stamp miniature sheet will also be available, which includes the TARDIS and some of the Doctor’s most famous foes – a Dalek, a Cyberman, an Ood and a Weeping Angel.

Managing Director of Stamps and Collectibles at Royal Mail, Andrew Hammond, said: “We are delighted to be able to celebrate this remarkable 50th anniversary. These stamps pay tribute to the brilliant actors that have played the Doctor over the years as well as the adversaries that helped make the show so popular.”

Product Development Director at BBC Worldwide Consumer Products, Fiona Eastwood, added: “The Doctor Who stamps are the perfect way to mark and celebrate the 50th anniversary of this much-loved programme. The collection is really impressive, and I am sure they will delight all Doctor Who fans.”

The special stamps will launch on March 26th, 2013, but are available to pre-order today from


Two words: DO WANT